September 2019

Arctic Futures 2050 Conference

Awarded an early career travel grant to attend the international conference focused on improving transdisciplinary collaboration and responding to rapid environmental change in the Arctic.

June 2018

SESYNC Boundary Spanning Symposium

Selected to participate in an international symposium focused on bridging divides to accelerate actionable solutions to complex problems at the interface of people and the environment.

May 2018

Joe Witte Special Recognition in Science Communication Leadership

Awarded by the Department of Communication at George Mason University for leadership in science communication.

August 2017 - May 2018

Dean’s Fellow for Climate Change Communication Research

Research fellowship awarded by the Department of Communication at George Mason University and the Center for Climate Change Communication for research and academic achievement.

August 2017

Arctic Change - Global Challenge: Workshop for Emerging Leaders

Selected to join workshop for emerging Arctic leaders, co-sponsored by the Swedish Foundation for Strategic Environmental Research, the German Marshall Fund of the United States, and the Arctic Centre.

March 2017

Communication Challenge Award

Dept. of Communication nominee for the College of Humanities and Social Science Dean’s Challenge Award, which acknowledges students who have excelled while making academically-challenging choices. 

August 2016

Aurora Award - Public Service Campaign

Awarded to the University of Alaska Fairbanks and accepted by Kristin Timm, who coordinated the communication, outreach, and promotional activities for the 2016 Arctic Science Summit Week. The annual award recognizes the best public relations campaigns in Alaska.  

July 2016

Eugene M. Shoemaker Communication Award

Awarded to Shad O’Neel, Kristin Timm, and Eran Hood for the Icefield to Ocean outreach poster in recognition of USGS products that demonstrate extraordinary effectiveness in communicating complex scientific concepts. 

April 2015

Legislative Citation

Awarded by the Twenty-ninth Alaska State Legislature to Kristin Timm and collaborators in recognition of the Vizzie Award for the Icefield to Ocean outreach poster. 

March 2015

Vizzie Award - People’s Choice - Poster

Awarded to Kristin Timm, Shad O’Neel, Eran Hood, and Alison Bidlack for the Icefield to Ocean outreach poster. Co-sponsored by the National Science Foundation and Popular Science, the award recognizes the year’s best scientific visualizations. 

June 2011

Conference Travel Grant

Awarded by Alaska EPSCoR to attend the International Conference on Arctic Social Science.

June 2011

Conference Travel Grant

Awarded by the International Arctic Science Committee to attend the International Polar Year Oslo Science Conference.